Skip to page body Patient Care Survivorship Research Cancer Types News Giving Community Partners Clinical Trials
UCLA's Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
Take the Jonsson Cancer Center Site Survey

Latest News

News Review
Renowned Scientist Dr. Harold Varmus Awarded 2012 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal
Posted Date: 12/18/2012 10:30 AM

Drs. Judith Gasson and Harold VarmusSince 1987, the Glenn T. Seaborg Medal has been given to honor scientists for their contributions to chemistry and biochemistry. On December 7, 2012, the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry awarded the 2012 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to Harold Varmus, M.D., Director of the National Cancer Institute and 1989 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (with Michael Bishop).

The event, held at the 2012 Seaborg Symposium, was entitled "Can Scientists Make the World a Better Place through Discovery, Dissemination, and Application of Knowledge?" UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center Director Dr. Judith Gasson was on hand to present the Medal to Dr. Varmus (pictured).

Additional speakers at the symposium included Dr. Levi Garraway (Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT), Dr. Michael Eisen (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, University of California, Berkeley), and Dr. Prabhat Jha (Centre for Global Health Research, University of Toronto).

To view additional photos and recorded video of the event, click here.


Mixx Google Digg Reddit Facebook Yahoo! Newsvine MySpace